11 years? 12? Is that how long it’s been?

I get to go scare the hell out of 130 new students today. Outside of my favorite dream vocation of writing fantasy fiction books for kids, I’m an evil statistics professor for a Cal State University. Going on 12 years there, by far the longest I’ve ever worked in one place.

I suppose it’s probably because it’s not really like work at all. I have a great schedule, I work with good people in a great department, and being around college students is a kick. And it affords me all the time I need to pursue my dream.

Every time I tell someone I teach stats they cringe. I didn’t like it when I took it, but I had a crappy teacher. I’d like to think I’m good at what I do, so I make the subject come alive for my classes. Hell, I teach them how to use probability to play poker, what could be better than that?

As much as I love my time off, I know I’ll be glad to be back around people again. Funny thing about human beings – we’re pretty messed up – but we do need each other. Alone is not good.

I have a lot of work to do on Diego’s next fantasy dragons novel, and that’s the great thing about my “job.” I’ll be able to get that book out before the holidays hit, and I’ll be able to hold another of my Hispanic books in my hand.

Life is good this morning. I’m glad. It’s been a tough summer.

And… Onward!

Kevin Gerard
Diego’s Dragon
Conor and the Crossworlds

